Filling up the cupboards

I’ve been in the mood to can goods lately and we’ve been lucky to get some leftover pears and strawberries. Last night I made jam with the 8 lbs. of strawberries that we had. It turned out yummy, not too sweet and a bit tart, and I think that jars of jam look so pretty.

IMG_7240

Here’s my recipe:

8 lbs of strawberries hulled
Juice of 2 lemons
1 1/2 cups of apple juice
2 packages of no sugar needed pectin
3/4 cup of agave nectar
1 1/2 cups raw sugar

In a large pot add 2 lbs. of strawberries at a time and mash in layers until you’ve added all 8 lbs. Cook strawberries with lemon juice and apple juice for approx. 10-15 minutes until boiling. Mash again if needed. Add pectin, stir well, and bring to a boil for approx. 3 minutes. Add sugar or sugar substitute and bring to a boil for three minutes. Can jam according to directions found here. Enjoy.

2 responses to “Filling up the cupboards

  1. I’m going to try this recipe tonight! I’ve never canned anything before…thx for including the link. Wish me luck! I may be calling w/ questions on the canning part!!

  2. I did it! LOVE the recipe; tastes fantastic. Thanks for the help! I already passed the recipe on to a friend who regularly makes jam and was wanting options for using less refined sugar. 🙂

Leave a Reply

